Arch or Door of Sant'Ana
The Arch of Sant'Ana das Aldas was one of the four gates of the old city. It was through here that Porto residents and outsiders accessed the riverfront and the merchant area of Porto. It was simple, narrow, and somewhat tortuous and tall. Its picturesque and unique appearance helped give its name to the street. The arch - which also gave its name to the famous novel by Almeida Garrett “O Arco de Sant'Ana” (The Arch of Sant'Ana) - started to be demolished in 1821 and in its place only a glazed wood sanctuary remains, encasing a small representation of Sant'Ana, as a reminder of the saint that gave her name to the arch. It's near the stone stairs that connect the Rua de Sant'Ana to Rua de Pena Ventosa.